The Hildegard Works




The works on this page are based on the various works of Hildegard von Bingen. The motets are based on Hildegard's sacred poetic texts, and the instrumental works, as well as the double choir Mass, are based on her chant. These works are also listed on other pages of this site according to their performance medium. As more new works based on Hildegard's chant and/or texts continue to be written, those works will be listed here.

Organ Music

The Hildegard Organ Cycle : originally titled Hildegard-Zyklus (1990-91)

Ten symphonic meditations on holy visions of Hildegard von Bingen as she described them in De operatione Dei. This work was first performed by the composer at St. Alphonsus Church, Chicago, on February 10, 1991

Instrumentation: organ solo

I The Origin of Life

II. The Construction of the World

III. Human Nature

IV. Articulation of the Body

V. Places of Purification

VI. Meaning of History

VII. Preparation for Christ

VIII. The Effect of Love

IX. Completion of the Cosmos

X. The End of Time

Total duration: 70:00

Missa O Ecclesia: Communion (1995)

Single movement from an incomplete organ mass based on the chant melody "O Ecclesia" by Hildegard von Bingen

Instrumentation: organ solo

Duration: ca. 2:00

Choral Music

SATB Unaccompanied

The Hildegard Motets (1991-93)

Nine motets for unaccompanied mixed chorus, using poetic texts by Hildegard von Bingen; commissioned by His Majestie's Clerkes, Chicago, for the 1993 celebration of the ensemble's tenth anniversary
Please note: The Hildegard Motets are not arrangements of works by Hildegard von Bingen. The Hildegard Motets are all based on texts written by Hildegard with music composed in 1991-1993.

Nos. I-VII and IX for SATB chorus, unaccompanied. No. VIII for TTBB chorus, unaccompanied

I. O verbum Patris

II. O splendidissima gemma

III. Hodie aperuit

IV. O factura Dei

V. O ignis Spiritus Paracliti

VI. Laus Trinitati

VII. O vos angeli

VIII. O speculum columbe

IX. Nunc gaudeant

Total duration: ca. 45:00


Click to hear O speculum columbe performed correctly

O frondens virga from Six Marian Motets (1996)

Commissioned by the Schola Cantorum of St. Peter's Church in the Loop, Chicago, 1994

For SATB chorus, unaccompanied

Duration: 1:45

Spiritus Sanctus vivificans vita (2010)

Based on a text by Hildegard von Bingen; commissioned by Meistersingers, Brian Dehn, conductor; first performed in a set of two concerts on June 19-20, 2010 in Orange County, California

For SATB chorus, unaccompanied

Duration: 5:30

SATB-SATB (Double Choir) Unaccompanied

Missa O Magne Pater (2014)

Commissioned by Michael Molloy in celebration of the life and work of Carl Crosier; first performed on November 1, 2015 by the Choir of the Lutheran Church of Honolulu and Hawai'i Vocal Arts Ensemble, conducted by Scott Fikse.

For double SATB chorus (two full choruses), unaccompanied

Duration: ca. 22:00

Hildegard Triptych (1997-98)

Commissioned by the Dale Warland Singers and first performed by them at the Cathedral Classics concerts, March 20-21, 1999 in Minneapolis and St. Paul, MN; first European performances by the Holst Singers, conducted by Stephen Layton at St. Luke's Church, London on November 8, 2003, and by the Nederlands Kamerkoor, conducted by Stephen Layton, in Leeuwarden, Utrecht, Beek-Ubbergen, Groningen, Alkmaar, and Amsterdam, January 15-22, 2004

For double SATB chorus (two full choruses), unaccompanied

Total duration: ca. 12:00

I. O vis aeternitatis

II. Caritas abundat

III. O virtus Sapientiae

SSAA Unaccompanied

O nobilissima viriditas (2012)

Based on text by Hildegard von Bingen; first performed by The Esoterics, Eric Banks, conductor, in a series of three concerts in the Seattle area, titled Sybilla, December 7, 8, and 9, 2012

For SSAA chorus, unaccompanied

Duration: 3:53

TTBB Unaccompanied

O coruscans lux stellarum

Based on a text by Hildegard von Bingen, this work also includes brief quotations of chant by Hildegard; commissioned for the 150th anniversary celebration of the Harvard Glee Club; first performed during the 2005 Spring Tour of the Glee Club (March 27-April 2), conducted by Kevin Leong

For TTBB chorus, unaccompanied

Duration: 5:34

Orchestra Music

Angels (1997; rev. 1998; published 1999)

For chamber orchestra (orchestra version by the composer; originally for organ)

Chamber orchestra: piccolo, flute, oboe, 2 B-flat clarinets, bassoon, 2 horns, B-flat trumpet, trombone, tuba, timpani, bass drum, crotales, triangle, harp, strings (minimum, 65442)

Duration: ca. 10:00

Instrumental Music

Mass for Dedication (2001)

Commissioned by Christ Church, Winnetka, Illinois for the dedication of the redesigned and expanded organ; first performed by Dana Robinson on September 14, 2003

Instrumentation: organ solo

I. Entrance

II. Offertory

III. Consecration

IV. Communion

V. Finale

Total duration: 12:30

Angels (1994)

Commissioned by James Russell Brown for the dedication of the Hellmuth Wolff organ at St. Giles Church, Northbrook, Illinois

Instrumentation: organ solo

Duration: ca. 10:00